Does It Pay to Pray?

file000429206031

Guest Post by Morgan Bryson

I prayed for a child, and the Lord has granted me what I asked of him” (I Samuel 1:27).

Have you ever prayed and prayed for something or someone and you feel like God hasn’t answered your prayer? I think everyone has been in that situation.

God answers prayer, but not always in the way you might expect.

It is hard for me to sit down and discipline myself to spend a few minutes with God, but when I do I feel like I have accomplished something.

In our Wednesday night Bible class we are studying prayer and how to pray with scripture. I have learned a lot and I am enjoying it very well. God doesn’t care how we pray or where we do it, but He wants us to pray to Him as often as we can.

The Bible says, “If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given to you” (John 15:7). This tells me that if I only have the faith in God and in what I am asking, God will give it to me.

God wants to hear from us; nothing is too big or small for Him to deal with in our lives.

The verse above from I Samuel was a prayer of Hannah. It was very important to her to have a child. God answered her prayer! Her prayer “paid” off!

What is important to you? Have you prayed about it today? Do you trust God that He will answer your prayer?

One of my favorite songs of our youth group goes, “Trust the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understandings. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will direct your paths.”

When I trust God I will pray to Him. I need His answers and guidance. For me, it pays to pray.

Leave a Reply

