Breaking Out of My Own House

I cannot remember for sure the discussion context from which this thought originated the other day, but I do know I was in our Marriage and Family class. All I remember are two points that formulated my thoughts:

  1. My teacher, for some reason, used a child playing with Legos as an analogy of some sort.
  2. My teacher, in class, was teaching us that children who are not shown love become very deprived as adults, even thinking very low of themselves and always wondering if they are good for anything. This is why they search for fulfillment in many places that ultimately don’t fulfill their needs.

These thoughts, for whatever reason, led me to think about an adult, sitting on the floor, building a wall with Legos. Then, I imagined them building another wall, branching off of this first wall. Then I pictured a third, and then a fourth. I even imagined these walls being built up past the adult’s head. Picturing the adult stand up, I imagined the walls being built higher and higher.

Here’s the mind-bender: As I considered the adult who was now completely walled in, my thoughts went to the roof of this structure. Do people complete the roof on the walls they construct to hide themselves? Then I wondered, “If they do, it may be possible to a certain point, but ultimately, someone else would have to place the last piece on top, from the outside.

Then I thought, “Why not save yourself the trouble, and immediately go to someone who could help you get out of your self-constructed emotional shelters? I can’t imagine a person who was more willing to place the last piece on your roof than they were willing to help you break out of your enclosure.”

“Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart; and you shall find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy, and My load is light” (Matthew 11:28-30).

Consider this simple switch: Let Jesus help you break out of your enclosure. Be free.

Leave a Reply

