When Killing Yourself is Permissible

There is a dirt trail right next to our apartment complex that follows a creek. I recently walked the trail alone and sat down on a tree that had fallen across the creek. Let’s just say that I was there because I made a mistake, and I needed some time to refresh my mind.

As I sat, a man and four children rode by on their bikes. As the man rode on ahead, one of the younger boys lost control and crashed into the grass next to him. He was crying and clearly frustrated. When the man came to his aid, he said something that has remained with me. He said, “I know it hurts, it hurts your pride more than anything.”

Wow. I never thought of it that way.

When I make a mistake in my life, I often ignore it. I will explain it away. I will make excuses about what I meant to do. I deny that I did wrong at all costs. In any way I can, I often convince myself that I did not make that mistake at all.

What about you?

Let me suggest to you that you can view your mistakes under a different light. Rather than considering your mistakes as hindrances, consider your mistakes as abilities.  In other words, let your pride take a hit. Let your pride die a little. Here’s what I mean.

As soon as you make a mistake, acknowledge it, and move on. This can be hard because you like to think you are a good person, overall. This can be hard because you want others to think you are, overall, a good person. However, acknowledging the mistake enables you to grow. When your mistakes are seen as opportunities to grow, rather than ensnaring setbacks, you will have a new sense of freedom because you will no longer be in denial.

Won’t you try it? Won’t you make the simple switch? Won’t you set yourself free?

Proverbs 16:18 – “Pride goes before destruction, And a haughty spirit before stumbling” (NASU).

6 thoughts on “When Killing Yourself is Permissible

  1. I have enjoyed your site so I’ve nominated you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for illuminating, informative blog content. You can check out the details at my site … http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Hope you’re having a great day

  2. “Rather than considering your mistakes as hindrances, consider your mistakes as abilities. In other words, let your pride take a hit.” – What a great line! Thanks for this post – well done!

Leave a Reply

