Teaching Your Tale

I would have posted this on Saturday had I been able to connect to the internet. Enjoy!

I sat at the feet of some older men today. They taught me some great lessons.

One guy told me that he will never disclose to his grandkids some of the things he did in his past. He taught me that a person can never change his life too early.

One guy told me that he was raised around the church, later became an agnostic/atheist, and has since come back to the church to be in a position of leadership. He taught me that a person can never change his life too early.

One guy told me that every person has a story, and that none of us should be ashamed to tell that story. He not only taught me that a person can never change his life too early, but he also made me realize that I am more likely to change earlier when I have had a chance to listen to the stories of older people, and to see the changes that have taken place in their lives when they turn to God.

“But whatever gain I had, I counted it as loss for the sake of Christ. Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in Him…” (Philippians 3:7-9a).

May I encourage you to make a simple switch if you have not already? Please, either in word or deed, guide someone younger to realize that a person’s story never changes for the better too early, if and/or when they turn to God.

Leave a Reply

