What’s With Wayne?

There was a time when my wife and I weren’t married. I know. Its stunning, isn’t it?

When we were dating, I once decided that we should go out to eat in order to get to know one another better. I felt good about myself that day because I actually made a decision, for once.

Then she made a decision. She decided that we should go out on the streets and invite a homeless person to go eat with us.

So we did.

His name was Wayne. He didn’t go out to eat with us, but what he did will remain in my memory to the grave:

To this day, I have yet to be hugged harder by anyone else in this world. Wayne was truly grateful that we took the time to listen to him and make sure that he had all that he needed.

“When you give a luncheon or a dinner, do not invite your friends or your brothers or your relatives or rich neighbors, otherwise they may also invite you in return and that will be your repayment. But when you give a reception, invite the poor, the crippled, the lame, the blind, and you will be blessed, since they do not have the means to repay you; for you will be repaid at the resurrection of the righteous.”

Won’t you make this your simple switch?

Leave a Reply

