New “Miss Fabulous” Crowned

For all but the first four years of my life, I have understood what it means to have a sibling with special needs. After my sister was diagnosed with Autism when she was two years old, my family and I experienced the unique joys that come from interacting with other children like her. I was most glad to have gained that experience when I first met the woman I would one day marry, because her brother has always been in a wheelchair with more severe issues. Now my brother-in-law, I cannot imagine what my life would be like without these two, wonderful siblings.

I have found, however, that the joy and relative ease I feel towards children and adults with special needs is not always found in the lives of others. That is why I was so thrilled to find this video. I hope you watch it.

My plea for those who find difficulty understanding the special needs world, is that you make a simple switch in mind and heart. Please, whether in dealing with those who have special needs or those who do not, remember to look as God sees and not as man sees (I Samuel 16:7).

Look at these tender hearts and see how fabulous they are. You don’t know how much good you will do by acknowledging them with a smile. You don’t know how much good you will give to a parent or guardian by complimenting their perseverance. A new perspective and a good deed will change your life.

Leave a Reply

